August 2016 Wrap-Up

August flew by!

Again, one of the busiest months at work but I still managed to relax a bit.

The month did not start out very well in terms of reading but it ended with a bang.


Summary:

Total Books Read: 4

Longest Read: Writers of the Future Volume 31 (496 pages)

Shortest Read: Our Future Good (2h and 47m)

Book of the Month: Made For You

Favourite Cover:

Challenges Progress:

GoodReads: 35/50
2016 Netgalley & Edelweiss: 21/?


August Books:

 

After one month I was finally able to finish Writers of the Future Volume 31, a sci-fi and fantasy anthology featuring various authors.

I enjoyed most of the stories quite a lot, others did not tickle me much, but what I really did not appreciate and felt out of context was all the self-patting on the back of the people who put it together.

I rated it 3.5/5 stars.

 

 

I then read Dark Matter by Blake Crouch.

It was a fast-paced, thought-provoking novel with several things I felt should have been better explained or developed.
Even with all the flaws I kept wanting to know what came next, so I recommend it.

I rated it 3/5 stars.

 

 
 

Our Future Good by T.J. Kirby was a novella that had quite a lot of potential but ultimately was very disappointing. There was all this cool sci-fi going on and no interesting direction whatsoever.
It was nice listening to an audiobook, I hadn’t done that in a while.

I rated it 2/5.

 

 
 

Made for You by Melissa Marr was such a welcoming surprise!

This was my first book by the author and I have a feeling that her others might not be up my alley but Made For You worked as a psychological thriller peppered with paranormal and romance.
What an intriguing narrative, I absolutely recommend it.

I rated it 4.5/5 stars.

 

 


Where I got the books:

Blogging for Books

  • Dark Matter

Netgalley:

  • Writers of the Future Volume 31
  • Dark Matter
  • Made For You

 

Rafllecopter:

  • Our Future Good

 

Movie Reviews:

 

TV Reviews:

 

Other Posts in August:

 


How was August for you?
Do you have a Wrap-up post? Please link it below!

7 thoughts on “August 2016 Wrap-Up

  1. I love the sound of Made For You – it may be one that I try to get hold of when my TBR pile isn’t quite so crazily high! Hope that September is a good reading and blogging month for you – I can’t quite believe that August zipped by so fast!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: September 2016 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

