La Vita è Bella

La Vita è Bella

Rating: 4.5/5

Premise:

From IMDB:
When an open-minded Jewish librarian and his son become victims of the Holocaust, he uses a perfect mixture of will, humor and imagination to protect his son from the dangers around their camp.

Review:

No, this is not the most historically faithful movie. Yes, there is no way most of this stuff could ever happen. It is still one of the most beautiful, inspirational movies I have ever seen. Throughout it I was never sure whether to be incredibly sad or amused and ended up being both at the same time, which left me an emotional wreck.

I have to admit I was put off in the first part of the movie because that machine-gun drivel style of talking gets tiring. Trying to keep up made my head hurt, but it is part of Guido’s charm, talking so much you can’t tell it’s all nonsense cause you don’t have enough time to process it all. And seeing all the seemingly pointless scenes come together in such funny sequences was very amusing.

Guido’s imagination had no end and that is where the strength of the movie lies. The lengths to which he goes to keep his son safe and rid him of all that is going on…
The kid was such a star, so expressive…
And the ending made me cry like a baby.

There really isn’t much I can say without spoiling the movie but I definitely want to make it clear this is one of those movies you need to watch at least once in your lifetime.

One thought on “La Vita è Bella

  1. Pingback: September 2016 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

