The Girl from the Sea

Title: The Girl from the Sea

Author: Shalini Boland

Genres: Contemporary | Mystery | Romance | Thriller

Length: 306 pages | 3237 Locations

Source: Netgalley

Format: Mobi

Rating: 2.5/5

Premise:

Mia wakes up in a hospital after almost drowning and does not remember a thing about herself.
While Mia attempts to recall her formal life while building a new one revelations will be made that neither Mia nor you will be prepared for.

Review:

There are a lot of memory loss stories out there. Not all will be amazing.

The Girl from the Sea was, for the most part, not impressive. I couldn’t take to the main character. Frankly, she sounded annoying, whiny and needy to me. And I have said this before but a character saying they sound annoying, whiny and needy in these situations does not help in my book, on the contrary.
The prose kept me reading but there wasn’t anything there that truly hooked me, that wanted me to know what came next or what was going on because the inner monologues of Mia were just so uninteresting and, well, obvious.

The story needed more mystery, more oomph, more what the heck is going on here? It especially needed more evolution. Instead, it felt flat to me. We have a main character who says she is scared and terrified but I just don’t see it. A character who says in the beginning that she is more concerned about her lack of memory than possible lung infection and I am like ‘Seriously? Who the heck wouldn’t be?’ I would be terrified if I didn’t remember who I was and had to go with people who claimed they knew me and yet I did not recognize in the least.

This is one of those books where everything comes together in the end with a big bang, although I had seen several of the revelations coming from a long way. And although then you understand why those things happen, the fact is throughout practically 90% of the book you have to deal with an aloof character, insta-love and sloppy narrative. For instance, when Mia kicks Piers out of her house I was like ‘wait, aren’t you going to take his keys? He will just come back!’ And then in a later scene Mia says she had taken his keys and I was left wondering why the reader wasn’t told that.

The fact is nothing much happens throughout the book and that makes the ending even more ridiculous in my opinion. Mia goes through places and people who don’t spark the tiniest hint of recognizition other than seeing a creepy woman leering at her and yet when she sees an email everything comes flooding in? How does that make any sense? Or her dramatic personality change

I wish I could give this book a higher rating because the end really was impressive and unexpected for the most part, but I just did not find the evolution interesting or the story believable and those are very important things to me.

Disclaimer: I would like to thank the publisher and Netgalley for providing me a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Read from Sep 4th to Sep 8th, 2016

GR Review

One thought on “The Girl from the Sea

  1. Pingback: September 2016 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

