Lolita – 1962

Lolita

Rating: 4.25/5

Premise:

From IMDB:
A middle-aged college professor becomes infatuated with a fourteen-year-old nymphet.

Review:

Having just finished watching this movie I must say I am perplexed and still trying to digest it, as a lot happen throughout it.

At times I was quite confused because everything seemed to move so fast, especially in the beginning. I had hoped the transition to Humbert’s act on his desires would be more gradual and yet in one scene he is agreeing to live in the house and the next he is holding on to Lolita’s hands during a scary movie. The inability to keep track of time is something that stayed with me throughout the entire film.

I am pretty sure everyone knows this story. I did not think it would be possible to translate it to screen without ever being explicit but it was marvellously done.

All performances are stellar. I had not really thought of Lolita this way and it was astounding to see her evolve like that. On the other hand, you can’t help but almost feel sorry for Humbert. And Quilty… Boy, Sellars was truly amazing in that one.

I don’t think there is much more I can say without spoiling the movie but it is classic for good reason. I can’t say I remember the book very clearly after so many years but I do believe the adaptation was well achieved, even if quite lengthy.

As I mentioned I had a few issues with the pacing but I still believe it was well developed and there were a couple of scenes that brought a circular feel to it, which I quite appreciated. The film has depth on so many levels that you cannot help but be swept away by it, despite how deeply disturbing the story is.

One thought on “Lolita – 1962

  1. Pingback: September 2016 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

