The Girl on the Train

The Girl on the Train

Rating: 3.75/5

Premise:

From IMDB:
A divorcee becomes entangled in a missing persons investigation that promises to send shockwaves throughout her life.

Review:

Not having read the book, I arrived at the theatre with a fully open mind.

For the most part I enjoyed the movie, although I felt the pace was very slow – particularly in the first half or so. I wanted more tension, to feel more suspense. However, at the same time I feel that the pace and general mood of the movie translated Rachel’s frame of mind.

I did feel at times that something was missing in the narrative; I wanted certain things explained or differently developed, as they did not make much sense. But overall I kept wanting to know how things played out for these three women, and how their lives interconnected, not to mention what really happened that night. When that is finally revealed I was completely taken by surprise. I had not seen it coming at all.

I would like to stress out Emily Blunt’s stellar performance with such a multidimensional character. Everyone else also did pretty well – Haley Bennet in particular surprised me – but Blunt’s range blew me away.

I wonder how something like this could be put together in a book, particularly the flashbacks. I can imagine it getting quite confusing because the narrative jumps back and forth both in time and between characters. I think all that was very well handled in the movie and provided a clear narrative with little clues hidden here and there, though not nearly enough to guess how it all ended up.

I will definitely be putting this book on my to-read list in a few months or year, when I have forgotten most of what I watched. As it is, the movie was quite enjoyable and I recommend it.

One thought on “The Girl on the Train

  1. Pingback: October 2016 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

