Doubt

Doubt

Rating: 4.5/5

Premise:

From IMDB:
A Catholic school principal questions a priest’s ambiguous relationship with a troubled young student.

Review:

Doubt was at the same time brilliant and exasperating.

There isn’t much I can say about this movie without spoiling it. I believe I have never watched a movie that featured such ambiguous dialogues, which for me was at the same time genius and nerve-wrecking.
It was a very powerful movie and there were scenes when the characters never said a word but you could feel a range of emotions coming through the screen. At times, the tension was palpable.

I am still trying to process it all. It is a solid film with impressive interpretations, a controversial main theme but so much richer than that, as it confronts the spectator with several serious issues to which you may never get a right or wrong answer.

In the midst of it all, I think I found Viola Davis’ character the most shocking and emotionally packed. Both Meryl Streep and Philip Seymour Hoffman blew me away with their performances throughout the entire film, and the way they played their characters was brilliant, particularly Streep’s. Sister Aloysius sure goes through a troubling development.
However, Davis as the altar boy’s mother, in perhaps five minutes in the entire movie, was something completely out of any league, so disturbing and heartbreaking, and she was so freaking good.

I hope you will watch Doubt as it really is an excellent movie, but please know you may be disappointed in the ending. I know I was. I understand the conclusion and it was quite powerful in its own way, but I am still sad about it. I think with time I will learn to move past it and fully appreciate it for its brilliance.

2 thoughts on “Doubt

  1. Pingback: October 2016 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

  2. Pingback: Fences | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

