Falling

Title: Falling

Author: Julie Cohen

Genres: Contemporary | Mystery | Thriller

Length: 400 pages | 4534 Locations

Source: Netgalley

Format: Mobi

Rating: 4.5/5

Premise:

Three generations of women find themselves falling because of their secrets.
Can they come together and help each other through those hard times or are they too much to bear?

Review:

I was quite apprehensive before I started reading Falling, especially because it was defined as chick lit and I never read any book by that category because I felt it would not appeal to me. Having finished the book, I can honestly say that not only did I enjoy it tremendously but this was some of the finest character development I have ever seen.

This novel fully grasped my attention for the get-go. The chapters are composed of alternating views between the three main characters, told in third person, although Lydia’s has some entries in first person, of when she writes in her journal. I found this very dynamic and made me want to keep reading.

I still don’t understand how such normal situations and issues would have me so mesmerised but the fact is they did. I fell in love with all three female characters. My involvement with the story progressively increased as some aspects of their character and actions which had previously not made sense or came across as so off-putting finally came into place and I realised that there was so much more depth to the characters than I had originally perceived. There were actually reasons for them to act the way they did and the fact that I had judged them when I did not know made me think about how easy it is to do it in real life.

The ARC does have some errors that need to be correct and there were a couple of things here and there that I did not love. For instance, I felt there was a bit of insta-love (but then again romance is not my cup of tea) and a couple of things felt off character (but mostly for the secondary characters). However, since the parallel stories were so enthralling it didn’t hinder my commitment to the book, or my enjoyment of the experience.

Mostly I wanted to keep reading and I was sad when I finished, which is always a good sign of a terrific work of fiction. I think that I had been so wrapped in the story, getting to know the characters and watching them evolve as the narrative progressed that the ending felt somewhat rushed. However, I do believe it was mostly me wanting to keep reading the book; I did not want to part with Falling, I wanted to keep knowing about these characters and where life took them.

Falling is an extremely thought-provoking book and I hope you will pick it up. A solid 4.5 stars.

Disclaimer: I would like to thank the publisher and Netgalley for providing me a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Read from Oct 10th to Oct 14th, 2016

GR Review

One thought on “Falling

  1. Pingback: October 2016 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

