October 2016 Wrap-Up

October went by so quickly!

Some of what I read was pretty darn awesome. I was particularly lucky with the movies I watcehed.

Fall is finally here! Time to cosy up with great books and hot beverages and blankets.


Summary:

Total Books Read: 4

Longest Read: Falling (400 pages)

Shortest Read: Ozarium (Transitional Delusions #2) (281 pages)

Book of the Month: Falling

Favourite Cover:

Challenges Progress:

GoodReads: 45/50

2016 Netgalley & Edelweiss: 28/?


October Books:

 

Ozarium (Transitional Delusions #2), by Brick Marlin was the first book I read in October.

I have to admit I enjoyed the first book of the series much more. I had lots of trouble with the pacing and writing on this one.
However, it was a tremendously creative work of fiction and I believe other folks will enjoy it more than me.

I rated it 3/5 stars.

 

I then read Falling by Julie Cohen.

My first journey into the so-called ‘chick-lit’ was very positive. This book featured very real characters, and even though three generations were portrayed I could relate to all of them.
Falling was very thought-provoking and I thoroughly recommend it.

I rated it 4.5/5 stars.

 
 

Hidden (Dragonlands #1), by Megg Jensen had one of the most interesting premises I have read in a fantasy book in a long time.

However, it did not deliver at all. The narrative was chunky, the characters were unlikable and unrelatable, the novel was riddled with clichés and stilted dialogues…
The prose was easy to follow and there were a few interesting concepts. I really wish this would have been better executed. It could have been an awesome book.

I rated it 1.5/5 stars.

 
 

Love You To Death by Caroline Mitchell is the first book in a new crime investigation series.

I think fans of the genre will thoroughly enjoy it.
Personally, I found it a bit lacking, particularly in the character development development.
I still recommend it.

I rated it 3.25/5 stars.

 


Where I got the books:

Author

  • Ozarium (Transitional Delusions #2)

 

Netgalley

  • Falling
  • Hidden (Dragonlands #1)
  • Love You To Deat

 

Movie Reviews:

 

 

Other Posts in October:

 


How was October for you?
Do you have a Wrap-up post? Please link it below!

One thought on “October 2016 Wrap-Up

  1. Pingback: November 2016 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

