The Summer Goddess

Title: The Summer Goddess

Author: Joanne Hall

Genres: Adventure | Fantasy

Length: 464 pages | 5829 Locations

Source: Netgalley

Format: Mobi

Rating: 3/5

Premise:

Invaders from overseas turn Asta’s life upside down, along with her entire tribe.
As their leader, Asta will do anything in their power to rescue them, in a travel throughout the seas.

Review:

Summer Goddess is quite an adventure. We follow our main character throughout sea and land, with lots of secondary characters in between, and thorough descriptions.

For me personally it was not an easy book; since it was extremely descriptive, I felt my attention wandering much too often, and I prefer concepts to be more thoroughly explained than just be moved from one place to the next frequently. However, if you are a fan of this style and are able to fully dedicate yourself to the book, I believe you will be able to enjoy the experience, certainly much more than I did.

There were other things that threw me off. For one, I never really took to the main character. I felt she never questioned much and was just pushed from place to place. She is presented to us as a warrior and I never really saw that in her until towards the end. I saw intent, sure, but it felt like all bark and no bite. Whatever situations occurred where she could have proven herself, I felt she succeeded more out of luck than skill. That goes for everything, really. In a world full of so many dangers and ruthless people she always found someone to help her and it all just felt too lucky.

But what really bothered me was that she kept putting herself in danger despite her condition. Other practical matters nagged at me, like the fact she barely ate. The book does explain all that, especially towards the end, but it felt like an easy escape to the situation.

There was sex, violence and swearing, but for some reason I was never really shocked. Things did get especially exciting particularly towards the last 15% or so of the book and the ending was expected but I felt content.

Bottom line is I felt there was a lot going on, every place was described in detail, and I never really got a sense of the big picture or the interesting concepts the story did contain were not explored to my satisfaction.

Again, I am sure other people will love it, especially based on other reviews. If you want to get fully lost in an adventure full of beautiful descriptions, I do recommend this.

Disclaimer: I would like to thank the publisher and Netgalley for providing me a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Read from Oct 26th to Nov 4th, 2016

GR Review

7 thoughts on “The Summer Goddess

  1. I loved this one, but then I really enjoy Jo’s writing. I’m sorry you didn’t find it quite clicked with you – she is a layered heroine, but needed to rescue her nephew. But it would be a boring old world if we all liked the same thing, wouldn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: November 2016 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

