White

Title: White

Author: Tim Lebbon

Genres: Horror | Paranormal | Short Stories

Length: 62 pages | 918 locations

Source: Negalley

Format: Mobi

Rating: 3.5/5

Premise:

Several people are trapped inside a manor while outside the world changes.
The snow is relentless and it seems that someone may be hunting them.
Can they escape?

Review:

White is a very bleak, end of the world novella.

For the most part, I felt the prose engaging. Some descriptions were beautiful, even if sad.

As events begin unfolding, I thought it odd that the main character would not be more horrified,but on the other hand it makes sense if you consider the resignated frame of mind he was already in by that point. Still, I wish I could have felt more connected to him and the other characters.

Some things did not make much sense though, like how it was possible to walk so many hours and not be attacked by one of the whites or why claim Hayden was poisoning them when they never showed any signs of feeling sick.

I could not help feeling disappointed about the ending but I suppose it was fitting.

White is not a tale for everyone. There is horror, sadness and despair, and hope and happiness are distant notions. If you feel you can deal with the desolate feeling it will imbue in you, I recommend it.

Disclaimer: I would like to thank the publisher and Netgalley for providing me a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Read from Nov 4th to Nov 7th, 2016
GR Review

3 thoughts on “White

  1. Erm… I think I’ll leave this one on the shelves. Moving into winter with some of the Lifestuff sloshing around my ankles at present – I don’t need anything else to nudge me into desolation – I’m quite capable of getting there all by myself! Thank you for sharing, Ana.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: November 2016 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

