Lies

Title: Lies

Author: TM Logan

Genres: Contemporary | Mystery | Psychological Thriller

Length: 320 pages | 4179 Locations

Source: Netgalley

Format: Mobi

Rating: 3.5/5

Premise:

When Joe witnesses his wife doing something completely out of her routine, he would never imagine his entire life would suffer such a meltdown.

Review:

Lies left me with mixed feelings.
On one hand, for most of the time I wanted to know what came next and so I found it difficult to put the book down. It really is quite well written and watching Joe’s life unravel like that was quite shocking.

On the other hand, the main character seemed so gullible and at times even dense that he became quite annoying after a while.

You see, the premise on which he was basing did not make sense to me from an early stage in the book. By halfway or so, I had completely discarded it. So all that time I was like ‘no, no, no, that is not what is happening, come on!’ Also, by then I had figured out who did what and why. I don’t know, maybe I am getting too good at this *cough cough* but going through half a book with that thought in mind is not exactly pleasant. Also, it meant I noticed all the things that didn’t quite click.

The book wraps up nicely in the end and there were even a few surprises that truly shocked me. However, since I noticed those little things, not absolutely everything felt like it was explained and some things felt like taking the easy way out.

However, the novel really was masterfully written. Those last few pages truly captured my attention and would not let go.
Also, the book is thought-provoking. It stays with you after you finish reading it.

Lies is quite the page turner and I have no doubt you will find it extremely difficult to put down. I immersed myself in the story completely and payed extra attention so maybe that is why I figured it out early on but the fact that I still managed to want to read what came next should be a clue to how well it is written so I do recommend it.

Disclaimer: I would like to thank the publisher and Netgalley for providing me a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Read from Nov 13th to Nov 17th, 2016

GR Review

3 thoughts on “Lies

  1. Pingback: November 2016 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

