Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Rating: 2.5/5

Premise:

From IMDB:
The adventures of writer Newt Scamander in New York’s secret community of witches and wizards seventy years before Harry Potter reads his book in school.

Review:

I wonder if I am getting to old for this but the fact is I found this movie only so-so.

Eddie Redmayne was as good as he could be, considering what he was given. I could not relate to any of the characters.
Dan Fogler provided several humorous moments, although that seemed to be the single reason for him to be dragged along throughout the movie.

The special effects were terrific – I especially loved the scenes where we were first introduced to Newt’s creatures. Each was very different and that entire scene was very magical. However, it was just pretty stuff being dumped for the sake of dazzling the viewer.

There just did not seem to be much story to it, or what is there is underdeveloped and confusing.
Newt has these creatures and some have escaped so he needs to find them. Also, there is a bad guy wreaking havoc throughout Europe (no background whatsoever on the guy). And then there’s this weird disturbance distributing mayhem throughout New York.

The way these facts came together did not feel tremendously well done and there was just too much going on, with no clear thread uniting it. I feel like this movie can only be truly appreciated by people who read the book because I for one was very confused.

Unfortunately the movie did not interest me enough to want to watch the sequels and I cannot say I recommend it.

11 thoughts on “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

  1. I’ve wondered about this and the need to take it to a NY setting when HP was so much a British set book series. Special effects can transform a film but if they take away any form of storyline and HP storylines are very strong, then it will get reviews like yours.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I had a look at reviews on IMDB and most folks seem to have truly enjoyed the movie, while a few other ones wrote reviews similar to what I did. I had never considered that the setting being in New York might have something to do with it. I did enjoy all other Harry Potter movies so this was even a bigger disappointment.

      Like

  2. Oh dear – what a shame you didn’t particularly enjoy this one, Ana. I have to say that I absolutely loved it, but it would be a boring old world if we all liked the same thing, wouldn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: November 2016 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

