Dark Vision

Title: Dark Vision

Author: Debbie Johnson

Genres: Fantasy | Paranormal

Length: 336 pages | 4414 Locations

Source: Netgalley

Format: Mobi

Rating: 2/5

Premise:

Lily can see a person’s future just by touching them.
It is not something she wanted or that she can control so, at 26 years old, she is almost a hermit, working at night and not letting people touch her. Ever.
When a handsome stranger enters her life, Lily will finally get the answers she craved. But she will not like them.

Review:

When I began reading Dark Vision I found it a refreshing YA novel. The main character is in her mid-twenties and has developed quite a sarcastic personality.

However, as the story progressed I found myself growing more disinterested in what happened. The premise is never really explained properly. Concepts that could have been engaging were just mentioned and then never picked up again because it became all about Lily. Her witty remarks were a bit much at times, to the point where the lack of interest and blind acceptance of everything that happened was no longer new and uplifting. It was just unbelievable. Same goes for her friend. Who on earth would accept vampires just like that, not to mention all the other stuff?

Lily’s thing with Gabriel got so old so fast. Towards the end I just felt like the story was dragging on and on, repeating what had already been told so many times, with all the main character’s ‘all my life’ speeches.

There is an attempt to create a choice out of a situation where there simply isn’t one and, again, that got really old after a while.

I just can’t say I enjoyed the story, though I did like the Liverpool setting and the main character’s humour, for the most part.

Disclaimer: I would like to thank the publisher and Netgalley for providing me a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Read from Dec 2nd to Dec 4th, 2016

GR Review

One thought on “Dark Vision

  1. Pingback: December 2016 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

