Carnivalesque

Title: Carnivalesque

Author: Neil Jordan

Genres: Fantasy

Length: 288 pages | 2794 Locations

Source: Netgalley

Format: Mobi

Rating: 3.5/5

Premise:

When visiting the Carnival with his parents, Andy gets stuck behind a mirror. His reflection in turn takes life and exits the Hall of Mirrors taking the life that was Andy’s.
Will he ever be back?
Will he want to?

Review:

Carnivalesque is a very special book. I was surprised at the depth of it.

It awakened in me unexpected feelings such as sadness, loss, wonder, hope… Even though the book was told in an almost fairy tale manner, I felt connected to Andy, and wanted the boy to find happiness, wherever that might be.

And then there is the parallel narrative with Andy’s doppelganger and especially his mother, and I felt for her as well.

At times Carnivalesque lost me. It did wander quite a bit a bit and the prose was not particularly easy to follow now and then. I didn’t even know what was going on, one time or another. Also, I wish certain concepts were more explored, although the ephemeral and whimsical nature of the story almost made it slip my mind.

If I had to sum up this book in one word it would be magical.

Disclaimer: I would like to thank the publisher and Netgalley for providing me a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Read from Dec 12th to Dec 19th, 2016

GR Review

2 thoughts on “Carnivalesque

  1. Pingback: December 2016 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

  2. Pingback: Carnivalesque, by Neil Jordan ~ 3.0 Stars | By Hook Or By Book

Chat with me!

