The Catcher in the Rye

Title: The Catcher in the Rye

Author: J.D. Salinger

Genres: Realistic Fiction

Length: 230 pages

Source: Purchased

Format: Paperback

Rating: 3.5/5

Premise:

Holden Caulfield takes us through what happens when he gets kicked out of his fourth school.

Review:

This is a difficult one for me to review. For one, I can definitely see why it is a classic. Holden stays with you, even if he gets on your nerves. He is most certainly the embodiment of teenage angst and there is just so much you can discuss reading this.
However, I did find the novel dull and the repetitive nature of the main character’s voice got to me.

This has got to be one of the best show-not-tell examples I have seen of a character. His anxious nature shone through every sentence and at times it was quite intense to see how the world around Holden affects him. He acts like he has all the answers but he really is a very confused and lost boy.

While we follow Holden trying to avoid facing his parents after the fourth expulsion the fact is nothing much happens; and if his very particular voice was a breath of fresh air in the beginning it didn’t take long for it to become overwhelming. I cannot say I looked forward to picking up the book when I was not reading it.

I did think it picked up towards the end and although the ending felt abrupt it was also kind of perfect and after an entire narrative where the main character keeps stating how depressing stuff is I needed it.

Overall I think The Catcher in the Rye is great food for thought but it is not for everyone and not for every mood.

Read from Dec 26th to Dec 29th, 2016

GR Review

7 thoughts on “The Catcher in the Rye

  1. I’m currently reading this too! And I’m a bit disappointed also, as this is billed as a classic. I am finding the character annoying, and I can see why it might be considered important for classroom teaching, but I am getting no satisfaction out of reading it…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: December 2016 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

