December 2016 Wrap-Up

Well, this is it, the end of the year is here!

December was a fairly good month. Lots of tea and hot chocolate and I even got a week off work so I got to relax.

Also, the days are finally getting longer, which I truly craved.

This month and really the whole year were quite a ride. I am so very grateful.

Here’s to the New Year!


Summary:

Total Books Read: 5

Longest Read: An Intimate Obsession (360 pages)

Shortest Read: The Catcher in the Rye (230 pages)

Book of the Month: An Intimate Obsession

Favourite Cover:

Challenges Progress:

GoodReads: 60/50

2016 Netgalley & Edelweiss: 42/?


DecemberBooks:

 

My month started with Dark Vision, by Debbie Johnson.

The main character’s voice was refreshing but overall the ideas felt underdeveloped and that the book dragged on for too long.

I rated it 2/5 stars.

 
 
 
 

I have to admit Only Blue Will Do by Mark Rippon drew me in by the cover.

I suppose it could be one of those books that people either love or hate.
What I did comprehend of the scrambled narrative amounted to an utterly pointless effort and I finished the book feeling quite disappointed.

I rated it 1.5/5 stars.

 
 

Carnivalesque, by Neil Jordan, is a fantasy book that lost me at times but that is immensely special.

The way the author incorporated magic into the ordinary life (or is it the other way around?) makes it an entrancing ride.

I rated it 3.5/5 stars.

 
 
 

An Intimate Obsession by Elizabeth McGregor was an enthralling thriller than got under my skin. There is so much tension on those pages and a lot going on. Some of the characters had features I did not find believable and the climax of the story happened quite early on to me but I do recommend it.

I rated it 3.75/5 stars.

 
 

My last book of the year was a classic I have been meaning to read for several years now – The Catcher in the Rye, by J.D. Salinger.

This was special and unique but I did struggle to keep reading at times.
I can definitely see why it is a classic, though, and there is plenty food for thought amongst these pages.

I rated it 3.5/5 stars.

 
 


Where I got the books:

Book Depository

  • The Catcher in the Rye

 

Netgalley

  • Dark Vision
  • Only Blue Will Do
  • Carnivalesque
  • An Intimate Obsession

 

Movie Reviews:

 

Reblogs:

 

Other Posts in December:

 


How was December for you?
Do you have a Wrap-up post? Please link it below!

One thought on “December 2016 Wrap-Up

  1. Pingback: January 2017 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

