Blink

Title: Blink

Author: K.L. Slater

Genres: Psychological Thriller

Length: 295 pages | 4058 locations

Source: Netgalley

Format: Mobi

Rating: 3.5/5

 

Premise:

Three years ago, Toni’s daughter Evie’s disappeared without a trace.
It takes lying in a bed fully aware without being able to move to bring some insight into what happened all that time ago.

Review:

I struggled with suspension of belief on this one. I just did not get how someone could be fully conscious and no doctors realise it. Surely there are brain exams that were performed where the brain activity would be noticeable? Also, she needs a machine to breathe for her but somehow she is able to identify scents and she has her eyes open (who has their eyes open in a vegetative state??) and is able to focus on details such as a doctor’s open pores but no change occurs in her eyes?

It took me a while to warm up to it but once I did, about halfway in or so, I flipped the pages as quickly as I could. I enjoyed how the narrative was presented, with different voices – even little Evie’s – and mysterious character(s). The suspense built up.

Then at the beginning of the last fifth of the story we get the much advertised shocking plot twist (I truly dislike seeing that by the way, it was even in my ARC book title).
It is shocking indeed but I for one did not find it believable at all. There was nothing in that character’s past or later explained that would justify that she would view Evie as her own. Actually, pretty much the only background we get is that she had money issues.

Only when I got to the end did I notice I had read a previous novel by the same author and had felt pretty much the same. The books are so emotionally and psychologically charged that the characters’ actions need to be properly backed up and I just don’t feel it happens. It’s almost as if the book is done for shock purpose, all explanations for what had happened felt that way, as well as extremely rushed, and I have to say I don’t really appreciate that.

Still, Blink was very exciting at some points so even though I was not entirely sold I am rating it up.

Disclaimer: I would like to thank the publisher and Netgalley for providing me a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Read from Jan 31st to Feb 3rd, 2017
GR Review

7 thoughts on “Blink

  1. Pingback: February 2017 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

  2. Pingback: March 2017 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

