Doll House

Title: Doll House

Author: John Hunt

Genres: Horror | Thriller

Length: 204 pages | 2972 Locations

Source: Netgalley

Format: Mobi

Rating: 2/5

Premise:

Olivia is excited to move to uni and live on her own but on her first night she gets abducted by two man in creepy masks.
She wakes up in a pink cell with bolted pink furniture. Olivia is now their doll.
What she endures is not for the faint of heart.
Can she ever escape? And if so, will she ever be able to lead a normal life?

Review:

Doll House is definitely not for the faint of heart. There is a lot of explicit violence.

When I read the blurb for this book I thought that this could be an episode right out of my favourite show, Criminal Minds. A pink cell, two sickos wanting to make this girl their doll – I wondered what made them tick.

The more I read the more disappointed I would get. The characters felt flat, and not only do we not get to know how these guys came to think the way they did but we also do not even find out how they met and teamed up.
And it is indeed creepy to read a man gets an erection every time he thinks of maiming a girl but after a while it is just not enough.

There were other ways in which the psychological aspect majorly lacked. I could never even relate to any of the characters. Harry did not sound like the middle-aged adult he is supposed to be and Olivia just sounded fake, like the author worked too hard to make her sound like a heroine.
Even the constant swear words, which I usually don’t notice because they blend in with the stories when properly used, stood out like a neon sign because they did not add anything.

The writing drove me insane since I kept reading the same things over and over again. Because of that, the book actually dragged on for me.
It also sounded very immature, especially when the voice turned to Harry, or the police detectives, who I just could not take seriously.
Even the attempts at humour were too silly to be funny. Example:

Sargent: So? You’re sure he’s not our guy?
Detective: I’ll be sure when we get DNA. But I’d have to say, at this point, his story checks out. We’ve proven that much of it.
S: Poop.
D: Yes. Poop.
S: Call if you need anything.

The lack of punctuation was an issue as well. The writing just felt clumsy.

Example:

After Davis left Olivia closed the door and locked it behind him. She felt exhausted and leaned her heard against the door, her head swimming with information.

Still, Doll House has its qualities. This is not a book just about twisted men abducting and exerting extreme violence over young women. It’s about what happens if the unthinkable becomes real and the captive breaks free. Would you be able to lead a normal life? Especially if the person who caused you so much pain was still out there? Would you ever feel safe?

It does explore these questions so not all is bad and I am sure several people will enjoy it very much. Unfortunately I did not find it memorable at all and could not help finishing the experience feeling disappointed, especially since even the last line seemed corny.

Disclaimer: I would like to thank the publisher and Netgalley for providing me a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Read from Feb 3rd to Feb 6th, 2017

GR Review

3 thoughts on “Doll House

  1. Pingback: February 2017 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

