Assassin’s Creed

Assassin’s Creed

Rating: 1.5/5

Premise:

From IMDB:
When Callum Lynch explores the memories of his ancestor Aguilar and gains the skills of a Master Assassin, he discovers he is a descendant of the secret Assassins society.

Review:

Going in I didn’t have very high expectations; I knew this movie was based in a popular game, so it would be mostly graphic-oriented.
I didn’t expect such a weak plot, though.

The fight scenes were okay. On quite a few occasions I could not tell what exactly hit the bad guys and there were a few acrobatics that seemed so fake, like running on clotheslines – it was so obvious the actors were being held by wires.

But even so, cool fighting scenes are just not enough.
The storyline is not linear and I felt there were no proper explanations to what was happening. It actually seemed that a huge chunk of the movie was edited out.
The characters were flat, I still don’t get how the artefact everyone is looking for is supposed to work, the side characters don’t add anything to the story and I am just at an utter loss as to how this got put together.

Michael Fassbender and Jeremy Irons are pretty much the only upside to the movie, even though they were so grossly underused.
So yes, you could say I am disappointed at it and I cannot recommend that you spend money on this.

10 thoughts on “Assassin’s Creed

  1. I think that they made too many assumptions about what people knew about the games. Like, the Apple made sense to me and I didn’t mind the impossible acrobatics because they’re aspects of the games that I love. But they definitely could have explained things better. I agree that the script was flat and the plot was limited which was a shame. I was just happy that Michael Fassbender was in it.

    Like

    • That makes perfect sense, they must definitely have assumed it.
      Thanks for the feedback! Mr Fassbender is indeed a sight for sore eyes. And a great actor too!

      Like

  2. Pingback: February 2017 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

