Little Girl Lost (DI Robyn Carter #1)

Title: Little Girl Lost (DI Robyn Carter #1)

Author: Carol Wyer

Genres: Psychological Thriller

Length: 412 pages | 5551 locations

Source: Netgalley

Format: Mobi

Rating: 4.5/5

 

Premise:

An 8 year-old-girl goes through a traumatic experience and no one protects her.
A 60 year-old millionaire shows up dead.
A woman is receiving veiled threats about keeping secrets and insinuations that her husband is cheating.
How do these three stories relate?

Review:

Little Girl Lost got me from the first line. That prologue had me gripping my Kindle.

Then we meet our DI, who is working for a private investigation company. I immediately liked her.

She was a results woman. She would catch this guy no matter how long it took to collect the evidence.

Yes, we are told that she is patient and persistent, but more importantly we are shown that through her actions.

There are a few things that I wasn’t sold on: The child voice did not seem that age. Some things didn’t make sense to me like Abigail not trusting that she saw something or heard certain things. I would have to be really messed up to think that, and she was lucid on a couple of occasions. And there were several other details like during the first phone call the perp was supposedly holding a baby and there were no noise at all to indicate that; also, it shouldn’t be that hard for the police to get ahold of the approximate location of a subject using their phone; and the death of Paul was related before Christina’s, which is not chronologically correct.

There were surprisingly little repetitions. Other than variations of Jackson not knowing Abigail’s secrets and that he was really good at solving puzzles, I don’t remember much.

There isn’t a lot I can tell you without giving away the story. Little Girl Lost is full of twists and turns that will set your head spinning and have you turning the pages as quickly as you can.
I had a clue of who was who but I was never 100% sure because the narrative is ambiguous like that, and I really love that, that I was able to put 2 and 2 together but that it wasn’t too obvious – and also that those things that I didn’t get by then didn’t feel under-explained afterwards, which happens to me frequently, endings getting rushed.

I would actually have been happy with the story finishing at like 80%. It felt like the book dragged on a bit after that, especially in the last 10 percent, although there were still plenty of revelations and tension.

Highly recommended, a gem amongst others of the genre. I will definitely be looking out for this author in the future.

Disclaimer: I would like to thank the publisher and Netgalley for providing me a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Read from Feb 12th to Feb 14th, 2017
GR Review

7 thoughts on “Little Girl Lost (DI Robyn Carter #1)

  1. Pingback: February 2017 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

