Discovering Edelweiss

Well, now I have done it. I finally signed up to Edelweiss. Because that is just what I need, more places to get awesome books from, right??

For some reason I thought I could not sign up because I am from Portugal but I guess that only drastically decreases my chances of actually grabbing the books I want to read so I figured, why not give it a try?

It seems that it is migrating from Edelweiss ‘classic’ to Edelweiss+, at https://www.edelweiss.plus
I never tried the old version but I can imagine this is more user-friendly than the previous.

At first I struggled with it but the help articles were very useful.
However, there are still several features I don’t know what they are for.
I still don’t get why, when I am trying to do a search, I don’t immediately get the option to only view titles available for request. I have to filter first by publisher or publishing date or format or whatnot.
So I am a bit confused about the site’s purpose. Obviously we get to request review copies, but what else is there to it?

Alas, I added some of my previous reviews and requested several titles – only 10, not bad huh?? I am really trying here.
I didn’t find many of the titles I got from Netgalley, though. I wonder what the criteria is to putting a book up.

Also, does it have a feedback rate like Netgalley? What exactly to the publishers use as criteria for accepting a request?

Do you use this site? I would love your opinion of it and any info/tips about it, really.

I have seen a Friend option there, I guess that means you could add me?

Looking forward to your comments!

Poll – Publisher and Publishing Date

Hello there!
I hope everyone is having a lovely Sunday.
Unfortunately only 3 people voted in the poll so far and that is not enough for me to rethink the way I am posting reviews in Ana’s Lair. Could you please take a few seconds to vote?

Thank you so much!

Ana's Lair

Greetings, ladies and gents!

I hope everyone is having a great weekend.

I have been wondering if I should include the Publisher and Publishing Date in my summaries when writing a review, since most of my books are ARCs.

Please vote below.

Thank you for your time!

View original post

Slade House

Title: Slade House

Author: David Mitchell

Genres: Fantasy | Horror | Paranormal

Length: 233 pages

Source: Purchased

Format: Paperback

Rating: 4.5/5

Premise:

In an alley, there is a tiny iron door that only shows itself on certain times and is only visible to certain people.
If you happen to be one of them, be careful. Slade House has two inhabitants who will want you to stay forever.

Review:

Ok this review is going to be different because I simply have to gush over this amazing cover:

sh

Not only is it absolutely gorgeous but it also conveys the feeling of the book splendidly.

And inside… Inside you are able to glimpse something that is one of the many secrets of the book in a chilling design:

sh2

Also gorgeous!

Alright, enough gushing, on to the proper review.

Slade House is a difficult one to review. There are some books where you just can’t say much without spoiling the experience because the unveiling of the mysteries at the pace that the author presents them is what gives it such power, and this is one of them.

What I can tell you however is that it is a deliciously magical novel. For me, it was absolutely riveting, fast-paced and most of the time I was completely enthralled by the narrative. And every time I thought I knew what was happening, doh! Nope, the author got me.

I had heard good things about David Mitchell and this was my first experience with him. I can definitely say I would love to read more by him.

There were a couple of things I did not understand and if you have read the book I would love for you to let me know:

If it is said that Gordon did not call the handyman then that means he never left the orison that first time, right? Not like anyone else did. So how did he write the report describing the little door then?

It is said that one of the twins creates the orison and we don’t see much of that one during the interaction with their guest. I got the feeling that that twin does all the work keeping it up and whatnot. However, in some cases both Norah and Jonah appear, especially in the first one with Nathan. So how exactly does it work?

I was confused as to why they had to wait 9 more years after Freya. Does the door only open on that specific day at the end of October?

Norah kept arguing with her brother but I never got what alternative she was proposing. If they left, their bodies would age and rot, so what could they do?

Also, I was not a fan of the open ending and it makes me wonder if there will be a sequel, though it doesn’t look that way.

Other than that, this was an amazing read, highly recommended if you are looking for a magical tale with a chilling touch.
A solid 9 out of 10.

Read from Mar 3rd to Mar 4th, 2017

GR Review