My First Edelweiss Approval

Oh wow I am so excited!

I was actually wondering if I would ever get an approval. The fact that I might get one less than a week after signing up was far from my thoughts.

I have to admit I squealed when I saw this in my email:

I have heard so many good things about this book, so I am extra excited about it.

*does happy dance*

Now I just need to figure out how to get it in my Kindle because it says the file is sent but it’s not working :(
I have issues with Netgalley’s protected files as well so fingers crossed it will work…

*does some more happy dance*

Have you read this book?
In your experience, does Edelweiss usually send protected files or also regular mobi versions?

Books Becoming Movies in 2017: What I’ll read and what I’ll pass on

Do you plan on watching any of these movies?
Will you read the book as well?
Before or after the movie?

Taking on a World of Words

I’m sure I’m not the only person who likes to read the book before seeing the movie. I love being able to compare the two and come to the ultimate decision that the book is better. (Does anyone ever disagree?) Using this and this articles, I’d like to present a list of books that I’m either going to hurry up and read or let the movie woo me without preconceived notions.

The Zookeeper’s Wife (Diane Ackerman, March 31)- Pass. I might as well write a whole post about how sick I am of books about being the daughter or wife of someone noteworthy. This is me on my feminist soapbox at it’s finest. I’ll consider it for next week.

Wonder (R.J. Palacio, April 7)- Pass. My husband is reading this one now and I don’t want to make him wait to read it. I’ll go to this one, but I don’t…

View original post 524 more words

Fences

Fences

Rating: 3/5

From IMDB:
A working-class African-American father tries to raise his family in the 1950s, while coming to terms with the events of his life.

Review:

I actually watched this movie a couple weeks ago but I have had trouble putting my thoughts about it on ‘paper’.

It’s not that I think the movie was bad… It actually surprised me quite a lot on more than one occasion.

However, even the performances were not very satisfying and I can’t even say why. Everyone was amazing, as was expected. But it’s almost as if some scenes were made to make the authors shine, especially Washington and Davis.
No matter how much I absolutely love Denzel Washington, at some point I just wanted to say okay, I get it, you’re the protagonist! And Viola Davis, who has left me awestruck in performances such as Doubt and The Help, here just came across as either bland or over-dramatic on several occasions. In others I have to admit she was fabulous, just like Denzel.

I really wish I had seen more of other characters and their own story, especially Troy’s son.

Most of the scenes took place in their backyard and boy there were some lengthy monologues. Memorising those lines must have been a pain! But yeah, I actually yawned a couple of times.

Still, I appreciated the events that unfolded and there was plenty to appreciate in the movie. Some supporting actors were pretty darn amazing, especially Stephen Henderson and Mykelti Williamson.
Some close-ups of the characters were chilling and the ordinariness of the scenes portrayed made everything more relateable.

After a point things did feel rushed, though. I had hoped for more closure and, again, to have better insight into the lives of some characters. And the final scene felt almost cheesy and utterly unnecessary. I could not look at Viola Davis’ obviously strained expression.

Fences has an out-of-the-ordinary approach, that’s for sure. Maybe because it’s adapted from a play?
The movie took some turns I had not expected, it is very rich in content, and it addresses many issues that everyone can relate to in one way or the other. However, for some reason I still can’t properly identify, to me, it just failed to completely deliver.