Fences

Fences

Rating: 3/5

From IMDB:
A working-class African-American father tries to raise his family in the 1950s, while coming to terms with the events of his life.

Review:

I actually watched this movie a couple weeks ago but I have had trouble putting my thoughts about it on ‘paper’.

It’s not that I think the movie was bad… It actually surprised me quite a lot on more than one occasion.

However, even the performances were not very satisfying and I can’t even say why. Everyone was amazing, as was expected. But it’s almost as if some scenes were made to make the authors shine, especially Washington and Davis.
No matter how much I absolutely love Denzel Washington, at some point I just wanted to say okay, I get it, you’re the protagonist! And Viola Davis, who has left me awestruck in performances such as Doubt and The Help, here just came across as either bland or over-dramatic on several occasions. In others I have to admit she was fabulous, just like Denzel.

I really wish I had seen more of other characters and their own story, especially Troy’s son.

Most of the scenes took place in their backyard and boy there were some lengthy monologues. Memorising those lines must have been a pain! But yeah, I actually yawned a couple of times.

Still, I appreciated the events that unfolded and there was plenty to appreciate in the movie. Some supporting actors were pretty darn amazing, especially Stephen Henderson and Mykelti Williamson.
Some close-ups of the characters were chilling and the ordinariness of the scenes portrayed made everything more relateable.

After a point things did feel rushed, though. I had hoped for more closure and, again, to have better insight into the lives of some characters. And the final scene felt almost cheesy and utterly unnecessary. I could not look at Viola Davis’ obviously strained expression.

Fences has an out-of-the-ordinary approach, that’s for sure. Maybe because it’s adapted from a play?
The movie took some turns I had not expected, it is very rich in content, and it addresses many issues that everyone can relate to in one way or the other. However, for some reason I still can’t properly identify, to me, it just failed to completely deliver.

6 thoughts on “Fences

  1. It does sound promising and the cast sounds great. I really like Denzel though I haven’t watched any of his movies in quite a while.Sorry to hear that the movie didn’t quite deliver though.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blogger Daily – 7th March 2017 – Mary Smith, John Fioravanti, Ana’s Lair, Fiona McVie, Linda Bethea | Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life

  3. Pingback: Movies I Really Want to Watch [1] | Ana's Lair

  4. Pingback: March 2017 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

