The OA

The OA

Having gone missing seven years ago, the previously blind Prairie returns home, now in her 20s with her sight restored. While many believe she is a miracle, others worry that she could be dangerous. – IMDB


I came across this by accident. I was curious that Brad Pitt was an executive producer for it and the premise really intrigued me.

The pilot reassured me that this was something I would enjoy. A young blind woman who had been missing for 7 years not only returns but is now able to see. As she comes across the least expected secondary characters, the story evolves into something unique, pure even, with a hint of sci-fi/fantasy.

The more you learn about what Prairie endured the more heart-breaking but also hopeful you feel for her. Each episode left me wanting more and I struggled to pace myself and leave another episode for next time because I wanted it to last.

The OA is truly a true piece of art that demands your full attention. I absolutely love the camera work here and above all the sound production. When you consider the two together it is really something special.

There are so many plot holes, though. There were just so many things that did not make sense like there is no way she could reach to her back to make those scars or we never even get to know why she jumped to the water on that first episode; maybe one of the most blatant ones is Steve being sent away, Betty pays 50k for him, and then he is back to normal life – just to name a couple.

Also, I could never relate to the characters and still don’t know how they got pulled in to all the craziness.
I don’t remember any episodes focusing on Jesse at all so that one’s a complete stranger for me.

And finally, the last episode was a big let down for me, and I can see why several people wrote reviews stating that the entire thing was an enormous waste of time.

I don’t regret watching it. I still think it is beautiful to watch, the image and sound are amazing, but the content could have definitely been improved.
I believe I would watch a new season.

4 thoughts on “The OA

  1. Pingback: March 2017 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

