Stacking The Shelves [7] March 25th

sts3

Stacking The Shelves is hosted at Tynga’s Reviews and is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!


Hello, everyone!

I hope you have had a lovely week.

Mine was busy but good. Not much time to read, unfortunately. Plenty of time to request, though! I’ve been naughty again and requested too much stuff, making my Netgalley feedback rate drop below 70% again, but I have felt the need for different stuff to read. I ended up requesting books I would not normally read and I think it will do me a world of good.

These are the 8 books I added to my shelves this past week:


Edelweiss ARC

Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng

Little Fires Everywhere
by Celeste Ng

In Shaker Heights, a placid, progressive suburb of Cleveland, everything is planned – from the layout of the winding roads, to the colors of the houses, to the successful lives its residents will go on to lead. And no one embodies this spirit more than Elena Richardson, whose guiding principle is playing by the rules.
Enter Mia Warren – an enigmatic artist and single mother – who arrives in this idyllic bubble with her teenaged daughter Pearl, and rents a house from the Richardsons. Soon Mia and Pearl become more than tenants: all four Richardson children are drawn to the mother-daughter pair. But Mia carries with her a mysterious past and a disregard for the status quo that threatens to upend this carefully ordered community.
When old family friends of the Richardsons attempt to adopt a Chinese-American baby, a custody battle erupts that dramatically divides the town–and puts Mia and Elena on opposing sides. Suspicious of Mia and her motives, Elena is determined to uncover the secrets in Mia’s past. But her obsession will come at unexpected and devastating costs.

I absolutely loved the Stepford Wives sort of vibe I got from the description of the neighbourhood and the variety of characters also intrigues me so I am very happy that my request was accepted.

Gift

The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman

The Light Between Oceans
by M.L. Stedman

After four harrowing years on the Western Front, Tom Sherbourne returns to Australia and takes a job as the lighthouse keeper on Janus Rock, nearly half a day’s journey from the coast. To this isolated island, where the supply boat comes once a season, Tom brings a young, bold, and loving wife, Isabel. Years later, after two miscarriages and one stillbirth, the grieving Isabel hears a baby’s cries on the wind. A boat has washed up onshore carrying a dead man and a living baby.

Tom, who keeps meticulous records and whose moral principles have withstood a horrific war, wants to report the man and infant immediately. But Isabel insists the baby is a “gift from God,” and against Tom’s judgment, they claim her as their own and name her Lucy. When she is two, Tom and Isabel return to the mainland and are reminded that there are other people in the world. Their choice has devastated one of them.

Dear Kelly @ Book Obsession passed this on to me. I had actually wanted to watch the movie but waited too long and now I get to read the book, which is even better!

Giveaway

Gambit (The Prodigy Chronicles #1) by C.L. Denault

Gambit (The Prodigy Chronicles #1)
by C.L. Denault

In Earth’s battle-ridden future, humans have evolved. Those with extraordinary skills rise to power and fame. Those without live in poverty.

Sixteen-year-old Willow Kent believed she was normal. But when a genetically-advanced military officer shows up in her village and questions her identity, long-buried secrets begin to emerge. With remarkable skills and a shocking genetic code the Core and its enemies will do anything to obtain, Willow suddenly finds the freedom she craves slipping through her fingers. Greed, corruption, and genetic tampering threaten every aspect of her existence as she’s thrust, unwilling, into the sophisticated culture of the elite Core city. To ensure peace, she must leave the past behind, marry a man she’s never met, and submit to the authority of a relentless officer with a hidden agenda of his own.

Her life has become a dangerous game. How much will she sacrifice in order to win?

I won this in a giveaway and I am looking forward to starting it because it seems like just what I need to take a break from what I usually read and delve into a good old fantasy/dystopia. The world described in the blurb sounds really interesting!

Netgalley ARC

Hush Little Baby by Joanna Barnard

Hush Little Baby
by Joanna Barnard

When baby Oliver breaks his arm, no-one can (or will) say how it happened.

His mother is exhausted.

His father is angry.

His older sister is resentful.

And they all have something to hide.

I have felt myself drawn to stories involving children more and more these days and I am curious to know the dynamic of this family.

Mr Make Believe by Beezy Marsh

Mr Make Believe
by Beezy Marsh

Marnie Martin’s formerly perfect life is not quite going to plan.

Hard-hitting newspaper journalist turned stay at home mum slash part-time (terrible) cookery columnist slash full-time day dreamer, she’s not entirely sure when it all went wrong…

She suspects it was at exactly the moment she gave up writing the front page for the apparent bliss of perfect motherhood. But while her (tall, handsome, lawyer) husband Matt’s career is taking off, she is left behind with the impossible task of pairing socks. His late nights at the office are turning into late nights who knows where else. They haven’t had a proper conversation in weeks, sex in months, and a full night’s sleep in what must be years. Love has taken a back seat to the laundry pile and Marnie is feeling a little lost.

So when an extended fantasy about movie star Maddox Wolfe leads to a missed deadline, a very high profile case of food poisoning, the loss of her job and potentially her husband… Marnie becomes Mrs Make Believe: Anonymous blogger, secret spiller and voice of fantasy-life spinning imperfect mums everywhere.

Mrs Make Believe knows the bedtime battles, the marriage screw ups and the shrinking clothing (she remains a size 10, what are her clothes playing at?) only too well. She also knows that it’s ok to let your mind wander into make believe… What she didn’t know was that a movie star crush could walk off the screen and into her life, turning her already muddled world (with a husband with one foot out the door) totally on its head.

Will Marnie be sucked back into the world of uncomfortable cocktail dresses and Botox-frozen smiles? Will she find happiness in her infuriatingly imperfect marriage or in the arms of the (literal) man of her dreams? Or will Marnie find that true love is just make believe?

This laugh out loud romantic comedy will have you glued to your sofa. Journalist turned author, Beezy Marsh, is perfect for fans of Helen Fielding’s Bridget Jones, Tracy Bloom and The Bad Mother’s Diary. The battle through love, life and laundry should never be a one woman struggle.

Ok I have to admit I did not read the entire synopsis but this sounds like a funny read which is just what I need!
Also, I still am not comfortable reading a proper romance so this seems like a good compromise.

Narcissism for Beginners by Martine McDonagh

Narcissism for Beginners
by Martine McDonagh

Meet Sonny Anderson as he tips headlong into adulthood. Sonny doesn’t remember his mother’s face; he was kidnapped at age five by his father, Guru Bim, and taken to live in a commune in Brazil. Since the age of ten, Sonny has lived in Redondo Beach, California, with his guardian Thomas Hardiker. Brits think he’s an American, Americans think he’s a Brit.

When he turns 21, Sonny musters the courage to travel alone to the UK in an attempt to leave a troubled past behind, reunite with his mother and finally learn the truth about his childhood. With a list of people to visit, a whole lot of attitude and five mysterious letters from his guardian, Sonny sets out to learn the truth. But is it a truth he wants to hear?

Narcissism for Beginners is a fresh, witty and humane take on the struggle to make sense of growing up.

This sounds like a very peculiar coming-of-age story with lots of food for thought.

Waking Gods (Themis Files #2) by Sylvain Neuvel

Waking Gods (Themis Files #2)
by Sylvain Neuvel

When an alien vessel materialises in London, does it mean peace or war? Waking Gods is the gripping sequel to the ground-breaking thriller Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel. What’s going on? Turn on the television. What channel? Any channel. An unknown vessel, not of this world, materializes in London. A colossal figure towering over the city, it makes no move. Is this a peaceful first contact or the prelude to an invasion? Every child has nightmares. But the only thing scarier than little Eva Reyes’ dreams – apocalyptic visions of death and destruction – is the habit they have of coming true… Scientist Dr Rose Franklin has no memory of the last few years. The strangers she works with say she died, and was brought back to life. The question is not just how … but why? Kara Resnik and Vincent Couture fell in love during war, and have found peace since. They are the thin line of defence against what is coming. But they do not know they have been living a lie. And a man who claims to have the answers has his own agenda. There are things he cannot say – and others he won’t. All pieces of an epic puzzle. One we have been trying to solve since the dawn of time… *** Praise for Sylvain Neuvel: ‘This year’s The Martian. Captivating … So good and so eerie’ Buzzfeed ‘Bursts at the seams with big ideas … this book is a sheer blast from start to finish. I haven’t had this much fun reading in ages’ Blake Crouch, author of Dark Matter and Wayward Pines ‘This stellar debut novel masterfully blends together elements of sci-fi, political thriller and apocalyptic fiction … so much more than the sum of its parts. A page-turner of the highest order’ Kirkus Reviews ‘As high-concept as it is, Sleeping Giants is a thriller through and through. One of the most promising series kickoffs in recent memory’ NPR ‘Reminiscent of The Martian and World War Z, Sleeping Giants is a luminous conspiracy yarn that shoots for (and lands among) the stars’ Pierce Brown, New York Times bestselling author of Red Rising

After several rejections on both Netgalley and Edelweiss I finally managed to grab the sequel of Sleeping Giants as Read Now. Lucky, huh?

Lying to Children by Alex Shahla

Lying to Children
by Alex Shahla

A fictional father writes letters to his college-aged daughter and son remembering events, large and small, from their family’s past in the poignant and hilarious Lying to Children. In this collection of sometimes outrageous, sometimes sad, often heartwarming interconnected vignettes, author Alex Shahla enters the fray with a delightful confessional celebration of family life told in stories from a dad’s unique perspective. Centered around the untruths parents regularly tell their kids in an effort to protect (or silence) them—from “Daddy Loves his Job” to “There’s a Jolly Fat Man who Brings You Presents (Assembly Required)” —Lying to Children is an unforgettable familial history filled with laughter, tears, and life lessons, and brimming over with a somewhat-less-than-perfect suburban dad’s unwavering love.

This sounds light and funny and just what I need to unwind from some heavy stuff I have been reading.


And that’s it for this week!

Have you read any of these or do you plan to?

Are you excited about reading any particular books you got this week?

Please comment below and if you have a STS post please post it in comments.

Advertisements