You Don’t Know Me

Title: You Don’t Know Me

Author: Imran Mahmood

Genres: Contemporary | Mystery

Length: 400 pages | 3347 Kindle locations

Source: Netgalley

Publisher: Michael Joseph

Publishing Date: June 27th, 2017

Rating: 4.5/5

Premise:

An unnamed defendant accused of murder decides to fire his barrister just before closing speeches. He stands accused of murder and he decides to tell the entire story. There are 8 pieces of evidence against them and upon hearing them you will think he is guilty. But did he really do it? Hear his story and get to know him.

Review:

You Don’t Know Me was a curious, new experience that took me a while to get into but once I did I was hooked. The narrative style is unlike anything I have read, with so many colloquial expressions. Stuff like ‘Blood, you coming to my yard, innit?’ I don’t know, I am making it up but yeah those words were all used in the book.
I don’t know if young black people talk like that in England but after I got used to it I was entranced.

It got a bit repetitive, especially with the defendant asking to jury to have patience because there is a lot he needs to tell but that is all part of the character. He was a really well-built one. This unnamed young man obviously doesn’t have much education but he can stay stuff like She was never going to get over it, just like you never really get over a death. All that happens is that the sorrow gets older. It’s like a light that gets fader and fader. One day after years have passed maybe the sorrow is too covered in dust to see properly see what it is but it is still there. It’s just harder to see.
He has a passion for cars and has made an honest living of them. He is not involved in a gang but people around him are and he is dragged into a plot that he didn’t really choose.

I couldn’t help feeling sorry for the guy because it was so obvious he loved Kira way more than he loved him. I am not sure how believable all that stuff is but that is part of the story – he is telling you his version of what happened and it is up to you to believe him or not.

Still, there was a few things I am still not sure I can buy, starting with a 10-day closing speech. I don’t have information on whether that is possible but it doesn’t seem like it, does it?

This book is thought-provoking and defies any prejudices the reader may have. It forces you not to stereotype this young man and really look at him as a person whose life is dependant on your / the jury’s opinion on him. He tells you a story and, in the end, you decide if he lives or dies.

It is a truly compelling book and I highly recommend it.

Disclaimer: I would like to thank the publisher and Netgalley for providing me a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Read from Mar 26th to Mar 31st, 2017
GR Review

8 thoughts on “You Don’t Know Me

    • Actually I didn’t notice any profanity! Granted, sometimes I miss it if well done, but I think I would have noticed. It’s just a lot of slang but pretty much always the same words so easy to get used to. Let me know if you do give it a try, it really is interesting and unique :)

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: March 2017 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

