Afraid of Reading Glasses? There May Be a Way to Prevent Your Brain from Needing Them

Want to train your brain not to need reading glasses? Read this extremely interesting article by Kristen!

Kristen Twardowski

Conrad_von_Soest,_'Brillenapostel'

When I first got glasses at age 9, it opened up a whole new world for me. I had forgotten that I was supposed to be able to see leaves on trees without being close enough to touch them. Then I put my first glasses on, and there those leaves were. I imagine that someday I will need reading glasses as well, and the experience will be similar.

But science and the body are complicated, and various studies suggest that there are ways to train the eyes to delay the loss of close-range visual focus that inspires the need for reading glasses. The New York Times has a great article on the subject.

The loss of the ability to read small print well is called presbyopia, and by age 45, it affects around 83% of North Americans. By age 50, nearly every adult experiences some degree of it. (That is…

View original post 213 more words