Lady Killers

Title: Lady Killers: A Compendium

Author: Tori Telfer

Genres: Biography | Non-fiction | True Crime

Length: 336 pages | 5772 Kindle locations

Source: Edelweiss

Publisher: Harper Perennial

Publishing Date: October 10th 2017

Rating: 2.5/5

Premise:

A compendium of the tales of 14 female serial killers.

Review:

I am still mulling over why I didn’t enjoy this more. A book about female serial killers is surely innovative and I am a sucker for the twisted human mind. After so much fiction about this topic, I was thrilled to begin a non-fiction, realistic account.

The writing is engaging and witty and the author brings the right amount of humour to balance the wickedness in those pages.

However, that said humour, paired with the fact that none of the women portrayed were contemporary, bought an air of myth to the narrative that did not help prove the author’s point – that women could be just as wicked as men -, because it felt that there wasn’t much substantial proof behind it. The events in these women’s stories were studied long after the acts, and there were plenty of rumours as well. So, I don’t know, I guess my main issue is that it did not feel very ‘real’ to me.

The one story that chilled me the most was the most current one, the Giggling Grannie. I could definitely picture such a character and it chilled me to the bone – even more than reading about women who poisoned men or children in the dark ages or a couple of centuries after.

Also, constantly reading about poison grew tiresome and at some point I struggled to keep reading. I began to wonder if I would ever finish the book.

All in all, Lady Killers was an interesting read, but I would have enjoyed it more had the cases been more contemporary.

Disclaimer: I would like to thank the publisher and Edelweiss for providing me a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Read from Apr 1st to Apr 7th, 2017
GR Review

One thought on “Lady Killers

  1. Pingback: April 2017 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

