All the Good Things

Title: All the Good Things

Author: Clare Fisher

Genres: Contemporary

Length: 280 pages | 2985 Kindle locations

Source: Netgalley

Publisher: Viking

Publishing Date: June 15th, 2017

Rating: 4.5/5

Premise:

Beth is in jail because she did a very bad thing. She does not believe she deserves anything good, so her counsellor Erika has her start a list of good things in her life. The results this has in Beth’s life will be tremendous.

Review:

All the Good Things is such a harrowing, special book. Granted, the whole make-a-list thing felt like a device for the reader to know about Beth’s background and you don’t get to know the bad thing until the very end but since this is all about Beth and figuring out what led her to that point it makes sense. This character and the ones she came across is one of the most well-developed I have read about.

It bothered me that she was even arrested, though she tried to explain. It must have been obvious that she was not in her right mind even if she said she was. Still, Beth’s account truly surprised me at times and made me face certain preconceptions I had.

I don’t want to say too much or I will spoil the journey of knowing Beth but do know that this book can be beautiful, heart-breaking, relateable and extremely emotional. Even though Beth does not have much education, the way she expresses herself grabs you and doesn’t let go. Some of her descriptions are so vivid. And by the time I got to the bad thing she had done… I almost cried, which is really rare for me. Also, the way the book ended was just perfect for me, and I can’t remember the last time that happened.

If you think you can handle the strong emotions, grab this book. I know I had to take a few breaks while reading. But trust me, it will be well worth it.

Disclaimer: I would like to thank the publisher and Netgalley for providing me a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Read from Apr 9th to Apr 13th, 2017
GR Review

2 thoughts on “All the Good Things

  1. Pingback: April 2017 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

