Stacking The Shelves [10] April 15th

sts3

Stacking The Shelves is hosted at Tynga’s Reviews and is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!


In my ever-going quest to bring down my TBR I managed a tremendous achievement if I do say so myself and only added ONE book to my shelves this week!

Granted, I have been very busy at work so that helps with requesting less but still, I am happy with this.


Netgalley ARC

The Darkest Lies by Barbara Copperthwaite

The Darkest Lies
by Barbara Copperthwaite

A mother desperate for the truth. A daughter hiding a terrible secret.
Melanie Oak appeared to have the perfect life. Married to her childhood sweetheart, Jacob, the couple live with their beautiful, loving, teenage daughter, Beth, in a pretty village.

Nothing can shake her happiness – until the day that Beth goes missing and is discovered beaten almost to the point of death, her broken body lying in a freezing creek on the marshes near their home.

Consumed with grief, Melanie is determined to find her daughter’s attacker. Someone in the village must have seen something. Why won’t they talk?

As Melanie tries to piece together what happened to Beth, she discovers that her innocent teenager has been harbouring some dark secrets of her own. The truth may lie closer to home and put Melanie’s life in terrible danger…

A completely gripping psychological thriller with a twist you won’t see coming.

Despite that horrible last line (I don’t know why publishers continue to do that kind of stuff) the blurb intrigued me enough to seek this out. I am curious about the whole idea of a parent not knowing their child, I imagine it happens more than we’d care to imagine.


And that’s it for this week!

Have you read any of these or do you plan to?

Are you excited about reading any particular books you got this week?

Please comment below and if you have a STS post please post it in comments.

