Stacking The Shelves [12] April 29th

sts3

Stacking The Shelves is hosted at Tynga’s Reviews and is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!


Hello, lovely people! I hope you had a wonderful week. Mine was good. Despite work remaining crazy busy I did manage to do a fair amount of reading, especially due to a bank holiday so I got a nice long weekend.

This week I also received only one book from Netgalley. I have been going through my list at a steady pace and managed to raise my feedback rate by 2% so easy does it! I am trying really hard not to let the total count of 56 remaining books intimidate me *bites nails*

I have the following week off work so I plan to unwind, relax, and read while it is pleasurable, not as an obligation, so we’ll see how it goes.

I hope you have a terrific weekend!


Netgalley ARC

Holding: A Novel by Graham Norton

Holding: A Novel
by Graham Norton

From Graham Norton, the BAFTA-award-winning Irish television host and author of the “sparkling and impish” (Daily Mail) memoirs The Life and Loves of a He Devil and So Me, comes a charming debut novel set in an idyllic Irish village where a bumbling investigator has to sort through decades of gossip and secrets to solve a mysterious crime.

The remote Irish village of Duneen has known little drama but when human remains are discovered on an old farm, suspected to be that of Tommy Burke—a former lover of two different inhabitants—the village’s dark past begins to unravel. As the frustrated sergeant PJ Collins struggles to solve a genuine case for the first time in his life, he unearths a community’s worth of anger and resentments, secrets and regret.

In this darkly comic, touching, and at times heartbreaking novel, perfect for fans of J.K. Rowling’s The Casual Vacancy, Graham Norton employs his acerbic wit to breathe life into a host of loveable characters, and explore—with searing honesty—the complexities and contradictions that make us human.

I do love when I am able to put a cover’s influence aside when requesting a book. I find that they can be quite devious!
Requesting a book without any reviews at all is a risk but this seems good as it appears to be character based and those are some of my favourite.


And that’s it for this week!

Have you read this book or do you plan to?

Are you excited about reading any particular books you got this week?

Please comment below and if you have a STS post please post it in comments.

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “Stacking The Shelves [12] April 29th

  1. Pingback: April 2017 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s