The Original Ginny Moon

Title: The Original Ginny Moon

Author: Benjamin Ludwig

Genres: Contemporary | Disability

Length: 336 pages | 3486 Kindle locations

Source: Netgalley

Publisher: Park Row

Publishing Date: May 2nd, 2017

Rating: 4.25/5

Premise:

Ginny loves Michael Jackson, to play basketball and she plays the flute. She is also autistic, so she views the world a bit differently and people don’t always understand her. No one seems to realise how important it is for her to get to her Baby Doll to make sure she is safe, so she will need to come up with a secret plan to do it herself.

Review:

Well, this was a lovely one. I really enjoyed meeting Ginny. This character felt so real.
Before I read this I had some idea of what autism was but I think I had only come across the most extreme cases so I did not really know it was possible to live with this condition and still make a fairly normal life, though obviously restricted.

Ginny only replies to people when there is actually a question, she does not answer if she is asked more than one at a time, she absolutely hates being interrupted, and she will take everything you tell her literally. And she has an outstanding memory.

For the most part I was engrossed in the story but I have to admit after a while the book dragged on a bit for me because Ginny’s quirks are so often repeated and it gets tiresome. Still, there is plenty of tension, with plenty of stuff happening around Ginny that she does not grasp because she is so focused on getting to her Baby Doll.

There is a sensitivity, tenderness and realness to this book that I really appreciated.
Recommended.

Disclaimer: I would like to thank the publisher and Netgalley for providing me a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Read from May 1st to May 4th, 2017
GR Review

4 thoughts on “The Original Ginny Moon

Chat with me!

