The Night Circus

Title: The Night Circus

Author: Erin Morgenstern

Genres: Fantasy | Magical Realism | Romance

Length: 490 pages

Source: Book Depository

Format: Paperback

Rating: 4.5/5

Premise:

The Circus arrives without warning. (…) It is simply there, when yesterday it was not.
The book tell us how did this wonder came to be.

Review:

The Night Circus takes magic to a whole new level. The book is entrancing, whimsical and it just whisked me away whether I wanted to or not.

It is quite an epic tale and did tire me after a while. I was unable to fully feel enraptured by all the beauty because I wanted something more to happen. But that is my own fault. I find myself seeking fantasy less and less and craving more complex characters in each book I read.

However, this was very well done indeed. Even the romance was expertly weaved into the masterful tale and that is usually the part that lets me down the most in a book that has such amazing world building.

I find the narrative quite well achieved. The different timelines and the short chapters using second person bring more dynamic to the book, which definitely helped, even though I was often confused at what happened when.

It is not a book that you can skim through. It is a full-out adventure that you need to completely immerse yourself in and have no room for anything else. However, it will be worth it.

Welcome the Le Cirque des Rêves. Step right in and be mesmerised.

Read from Jun 4th to Jun 11th, 2017
GR Review

10 thoughts on “The Night Circus

    • It’s not for everyone, that’s for sure. The lengthy descriptions did tire me at some point but it was nice to read something different. Thank you for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. This book is definitely a slow burn– but it’s beautiful and captivating nevertheless. I love the atmospheric quality it has and how you never know what surprises will unfold next in the circus. I really wish Morgenstern would write another book!! Great review :)

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re right, I had no idea how slow a burn it would be. I didn’t understand why I did not feel the urge to pick it back up and it concerned me but at the end of the day I still managed to appreciate it for the work of art it is. Yes, I do hope she will write another one soon, although this will be quite difficult to top! Morgenstern sure has a way with words, I look forward to reading something else by her. Thank you, Holly!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That means the Circus of Dreams – unless my French has completely deserted me… I learnt it a VERY long time ago! I enjoyed this review Ana – I hadn’t realised this had passages in second person pov – how unusual. I think I need to get hold of this one. Thank you for sharing:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes it does!
      The passages in second person pov are very short and mostly to tell about certain features of the circus. It is very interesting to see it from that perspective. I hope you will get to read it, it is quite a gem!

      Like

  3. I’m happy to see that you enjoyed this book! I read it several years ago now, but I remember being charmed by it – though, as you say, it’s a slow burn. I’m surprised she hasn’t gone on to write anything else. This was a little gem of a debut.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I recently noticed that the book was actually written I think 5 years ago? You’re right, it’s odd that the author hasn’t written anything else…

      Like

Chat with me!

