Every Last Lie

Title: Every Last Lie

Author: Mary Kubica

Genres: Mystery | Thriller

Length: 331 pages | 4486 Kindle locations

Source: Netgalley

Publisher: Park Row Books

Publishing Date: Jun 27th, 2017

Rating: 3/5

Premise:

When Clara’s husband dies her world shatters. If that wasn’t bad enough, her four-year-old daughter Maisie claims suggest that it may not have been an accident.
What exactly happened to Nick? And why is Clara finding so many lies?

Review:

Every Last Lie started well enough for me. I actually did not remember the premise of the book so I thought the way it was revealed was gripping.
I felt for Clara as her world unravelled, but soon enough little things started to bother me, like the fact that she was stuck on Nick and never once wondered about Maisie’s safety.

The narrative switches between the time before and after the crash, Nick and Clara’s points of view respectively, told in the first person. This works very well.
I did not particularly like nor dislike Nick’s chapters. There were certain things that touched me but most of all I had a problem with how he seemed to worship Clara. I did not find that believable at all.

Clara bugged me with her ramblings; some of her thoughts exhausted me and I found myself fighting the urge to skim through the text. Just when things seemed to begin to get interesting, she would step in and be absolutely convinced that something was true when we already knew it was not. I wish the book had been further edited. There was so much there that was just not needed nor added anything to the story.

I had seen the reveal close to the end coming from a long, long way, so even that did not assuage the feeling of discontent.

It is a suspenseful book but the best thing I take from it is the image of Nick and his daughter playing and how we should appreciate each day as if it were the last.

Disclaimer: I would like to thank the publisher and Netgalley for providing me a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Read from Jul 11th to Jul 16th, 2017
GR Review

2 thoughts on “Every Last Lie

Chat with me!

