July 2017 Wrap-Up

July was one of the craziest months work-wise so I am glad I managed to read at all. Books definitely became my solace.
I was overall really lucky this month! They were mostly great reads.
Shame I didn’t get to go to the movies this month, nothing really piqued my interest. I hear good things about August, though!
I had my third and last Bookishly experience, which ended with a bang. I definitely recommend it and will be posting a wrap-up post for it soon.
I managed to grab my Kindle and head to the beach on the odd weekend so that was great.
So yeah, July was pretty darn amazing!


Summary:

Total Books Read: 5

Longest Read: Betrayed (Lake of Sins #4) (513 pages)

Shortest Read: Holding (272 pages)

Book of the Month: All Our Wrong Todays

Favourite Cover:

Challenges Progress:

GoodReads: 47/52

British Books Challenge: 22/12

2017 Netgalley & Edelweiss: 40/35


July Books:

 

My first read of the month actually started mid-June. Borne by Jeff VanderMeer is an extremely imaginative book, as is expected from the author.

However, like in my previous experience with his work, even though I thoroughly enjoyed the world he created the writing lost me at times and I never really felt the urge to pick up the book unless I was in a very specific mood. I also wished I had had more explanations by the end, not just hints.

I rated it 3.5/5 stars.

 

Betrayed (Lake Of Sins, #4) by L.S. O’Dea is the fourth instalment of a YA Dystopian series I have been thoroughly enjoying.

This one did not grip me nearly as much as the others because it is quite heavy on the romance. Still, I went through it quickly as usual and cannot wait to find the answers in following books to a few clues given here.

I rated it 3.25/5 stars.

 

I had trouble staying with Every Last Lie by Mary Kubica mainly because the main character annoyed the heck out of me and I did not find certain aspects of the book believable.

Still, I enjoyed it somewhat and it left me pondering about the good things in life and how feeble they are, as well as how even when we mean well we end up doing bad things.

I rated it 3/5 stars.

 

Well, Holding by Graham Norton was a bit wish-wash for me.
The character development was okay but as a mystery, to me it failed to deliver.
I still enjoyed it, it was a different read than usual, with the overweight sergeant.

I rated it 3/5 stars.

 

I finished the month with a bang, All Our Wrong Todays by Elan Mastai was definitely the book of the month for me.

The writing completely grabbed my attention, and I have to tell you, I am quite picky with humour.
Even if not fully unexpected, the way the story developed completely had my attention and considering we are talking about time travel here I found it believable.
Definitely recommend it if you are looking for a light read about a heavy theme, with a lot of soul searching and thought provocation involved.

I rated it 4.5/5 stars.

 

 


Where I got the books:

Author

  • Betrayed (Lake Of Sins, #4)

 

Edelweiss

  • All Our Wrong Todays
  •  

    Netgalley

    • Borne
    • Every Last Lie
    • Holding

     

    Features:

     

    Other Posts in July:

  • Unboxing #3

  • How was July for you?
    Do you have a Wrap-up post? Please link it below!

    3 thoughts on “July 2017 Wrap-Up

    1. Glad that you had a successful reading month, Ana. I think I enjoyed Borne more than you did – but while I wouldn’t want to read his writing every day of the year, I really enjoy the different vibe he brings to his work, which isn’t like anyone else. I’m glad you enjoyed All Our Wrong Yesterdays – I’ve been hearing some great things about this one. I do hope you are having a good August, too:)

      Liked by 1 person

      • I understand why you would like Borne and the author’s other work. I wish I could settle without knowing some answers because I would definitely enjoy it more.

        I don’t know what I expected about All Our Wrong Todays but it definitely surprised me.

        Hope you have a lovely month as well, thank you so much for stopping by!

        Liked by 1 person

    Chat with me!

    