August 2017 Wrap-Up

August is one of the busiest months at work so I didn’t manage to read much. Sims Freeplay took up most of my time, to be honest,
I did manage to go through a trilogy I grabbed from Netgalley. It was interesting food for thought.
I also managed to watch a couple of movies so overall it was a good month.


Summary:

Total Books Read: 3

Longest Read: The Final Correction (Condition #3) (288 pages)

Shortest Read: A Medical Miracle? (Condition #1) (210 pages)

Book of the Month: A Medical Miracle? (Condition #1)

Favourite Cover:

Challenges Progress:

GoodReads: 50/52

British Books Challenge: 22/12

2017 Netgalley & Edelweiss: 43/35


August Books:

 

I began August with the first book of the Condition trilogy, A Medical Miracle? by Alec Birri.

The book had a bumpy start but it developed into quite an imaginative work of speculative fiction and I was intrigued enough to continue on with the other two books.

I rated it 3.5/5 stars.

 

The Curing Begins… (Condition #2) by Alec Birri is the sequel to the previous book. I didn’t enjoy it quite as much as the previous one but then again it was quite different. The fact that the first half of the book took place in the 70s brought a new dimension to the narrative and I slowly warmed up to it, though gah insta-love.

I rated it 3.5/5 stars.

 

I finished the month with the last book in the trilogy,, The Final Correction by Alec Birri.

I am not quite sure what to make of it, to be honest. I mean, I enjoyed it, but I was quite confused.

I rated it 3/5 stars.

 

 


Where I got the books:

 

Netgalley

  • A Medical Miracle?
  • The Curing Begins…
  • The Final Correction

 

Movie Reviews:

  • The Dark Tower
  • Annabelle: Creation
  •  

    Features:

     

    Other Posts in August:


    How was August for you?
    Do you have a Wrap-up post? Please link it below!

    2 thoughts on “August 2017 Wrap-Up

    1. Pingback: September 2017 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

    Chat with me!

    