September 2017 Wrap-Up

September was sweet!

Another cycle has finished at work so that was good and I finally managed to tale some time off, the last week of the month, where I didn’t do much besides sleeping, reading and soaking up the sun.

I was lucky with my reads! I also watched a couple of films but didn’t feel like writing a review. Guess I am going through a phase in that department.

That’s about it!


Summary:

Total Books Read: 3

Longest Read: Little Fires Everywhere (336 pages)

Shortest Read: Narcissism for Beginners (208 pages)

Book of the Month: An Uncertain Grace

Favourite Cover:

Challenges Progress:

GoodReads: 53/52

British Books Challenge: 22/12

2017 Netgalley & Edelweiss: 46/35


September Books:

 

My first book of the month was An Uncertain Grace by Krissy Kneen.

I wanted to try something different so I went for this erotica/speculative fiction short story collection. There are only 5 of them, connected by a common thread, and I have to admit I was blown away. Great story telling, amazing world building and a new view on sexuality.

I rated it 4.5/5 stars.

 

Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng was pretty darn great.

These are memorable characters and I loved the portrait of a picture-perfect community disturbed by someone who dared live outside their rules.

I rated it 4.25/5 stars.

 

 

My last book of the month was Narcissism for Beginners by Martine McDonagh.

The book portrayed a few heavy subjects through the eyes of a breezy young man who is slowly coming to terms with the fact he needs to grow up, while learning the secrets of those around him – his guardian, his guru father and his elusive mother.

I rated it 4/5 stars.

 

 


Where I got the books:

Edelweiss

  • Little Fires Everywhere

Netgalley

  • An Uncertain Grace
  • Little Fires Everywhere
  • Narcissism for Beginners

 

Features:

 


How was September for you?
Do you have a Wrap-up post? Please link it below!

2 thoughts on “September 2017 Wrap-Up

  1. It looks like you had a great September, Ana and some really intriguing reads of a high quality, judging by your scores:). Hope the coming month is a good one and you get a chance to soak up more sun.

    Like

  2. Pingback: October 2017 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!