The Secret Life of a Bookblogger Tag

Hello, everyone!
Raven over at Dreamy Addictions was kind enough to nominate me for this fun blogger tag.
Thank you, Raven, for remembering me! Her blog is awesome and you should definitely visit it!! I particularly love her book reviews ^_^

This will actually be the first tag I do which focuses more on the blogging itself; so far I have only been nominated for all book ones.

So, on to the questions!


1. How long have you been a blogger?
I started Ana’s Lair on February 19th, 2015. So roughly four months and a half.

2. At what point do you think you will stop?
I suppose whenever it is no longer enjoyable, or I just don’t have enough time to put up a decent post.
At the moment, this is one of my favourite hobbies, along with reading. But, you know, people change, so does life and priorities, so who knows what the future will bring!
For now, I am fully committed to it and do not plan on quitting anytime soon. :)

3. What is the best thing?
The best thing about blogging is that I can rave and rant and overall just share my opinion about all sorts of things, though most are book related, and people actually seem to care enough to stop by, read and even sometimes like and comment on my posts. It feels great to know that I can reach people from all over the globe. And, truly, people seem to follow me from all over the place! That makes me truly happy.

4. What is the worst thing? What do you do to make it okay?
The worst thing is feeling the pressure to post. Sometimes there isn’t really anything I want to talk about, but I feel the need to try and come up with something, to keep my followers interested.
It’s weird how sometimes I cannot think of a single thing to post, and other times there are numerous ideas. So what I do to cope with that is try and take notes whenever an idea comes up, write-up the post as I think of stuff, and schedule it when I am happy with it, so that, instead of posting several times a day, I will try to do it once a day.

5. How long does it take you to create/find pictures to use?
Hmm I don’t really use pictures in my posts other than the book or movie covers/posters.
There are some really interesting animated gifs out there but I wouldn’t even know how to begin looking for them and, to be honest, I prefer my text clean. Some folks post a lot of those images and, while interesting and funny, I find them immensely distracting as well. Not to mention that my eye immediately jumps to them, so I will be seeing a reaction to something I have not read yet, ya know?

6. Who is your book crush?
I actually stay away from romance in books as often as I can. I cannot imagine myself having a crush on a character, to be frank. When I am reading, I like to immerse myself in that world, so on the rare occasions where there is romance in the book I am reading, rather than thinking ooh, I want to meet that guy I will most likely be thinking hey, girl, look how lucky you are, you better not let him slip!. So I will be rooting for the characters, not feeling like one.
Hope that makes some sense!

7. What author would you like to have on your blog?
Any author who wrote a book I truly enjoyed reading. It doesn’t matter to me if they are famous or not.
Also, I would like to make a note that ratings are poor statements of a book’s quality and my enjoyment of it. There are books which I have rated, say, 3 stars, but still stayed with me for long.
There are a lot of things which affect how I feel about a book and how much I enjoyed it. Sometimes, all one needs is a good editing, for instance, or a bit more cohesion to the story, for me to bump the rating up one or even two stars.
So, if I ever do get to chat with authors in my blog, don’t be surprised if the actual ratings aren’t extremely high.

8. What do you wear when you write your blog posts?
Well, it depends where I am. Right now I am at home and wearing my pajamas!! Comfy!

9. How long does it take you to prepare?
To prepare my blog posts? I tend to write them over a period of days, so then I just make little adjustments before publishing.
Other times, like this tag here, I will write everything, peruse the entire text, edit whatever I feel is necessary and go ahead and post!

10. How do you feel about the book blogger community/culture?
So far, I have only met awesome people. I am that lucky! Not a single person has posted a negative comment on my blog; I feel truly blessed.

11. What do you think one should do to get a successful blog?
I am still trying to figure that out!! I started my blog from scratch, with no supporters. I posted about it in my GR group, Book Lair, but not many folks there follow books so that wasn’t much of a boost. Quite frankly, I find it difficult to get followers and views, in general. I wonder often what I should be doing, so if you have any tips feel free to post!
I do know a few things you should do if you want your blog to get noticed:
– Take the time to visit other people’s blogs and comment.
– Create social media accounts for your blog (you can find Ana’s Lair at Facebook and Twitter.
– Try and post often!

For the record, I am trying to come up with new things for the blog. As you can see in my June Wrap-up post, I already did new things last month. Right now I am trying to find a balance between trying new features which will appeal to current and new followers while, at the same time, not turning blogging into something extremely high maintenance or do stuff I am not comfortable with, because that would be a sure way to get this to stop being an enjoyable activity and feel more like work.
But if you have any thoughts, do feel free to post. Maybe your suggestion will be something I can actually manage well, and include in my blogging without feeling that pressure.

Well, I guess that’s it. Thank you so much for coming here and reading my answers, you guys!


My nominees:
(In no particular order)

 
And if you think that wasn’t enough, I tag every single person reading this post!

Please remember to post the link to your post if you decide to do this tag so I can check it out, I am very curious to know all your answers :)

Have a great weekend, ya’ll!

24 thoughts on “The Secret Life of a Bookblogger Tag

  1. Pingback: I’ve been TAGGED… | Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

  2. Loved your post! Thank you for nominating me, I’m excited to do this post.
    It’s crucial that you try not to make your blog a job rather than a hobby and an entertaining way of expressing yourself! I’d say, just do what feels good to you. If you don’t feel like doing a blog post a certain day? Don’t do it! We will all be here for you even if you miss a couple of days! xoxo

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yep, I completely agree and will definitely try to keep that in mind. Besides, I don’t want to post just for the sake of posting. That would do a service to no one – myself or the blog’s followers.

      Thanks for the support, that is so kind of you :)

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Pingback: Blogger Tag: The Secret Life of a Book Blogger | T H E B O O K V E N O M

  4. Pingback: July 2015 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

  5. Pingback: The Secret Life of a Book Blogger Tag | Josies Book Corner

  6. Pingback: Tag | The Secret Life of a Bookblogger | Bookshelves & Paperbacks

  7. Pingback: The Secret Life of a Book Blogger Challenge | Illuminite Caliginosus

Chat with me!