November 2016 Wrap-Up

November was a pretty amazing month!

I cozied up with several great reads while it was raining outside and it was heavenly.

I read shorter books for the most part and so I was able to get fully involved with the stories, instead of there being so many breaks in between reads.

Also, I set myself a challenge – get to at least 70% feedback rate on Netgalley and stay there – and I achieved it! It’s the staying there part that proves a challenge but so far so good.

And finally towards the end of the month I had a job opportunity that allowed me to travel to Southampton, England and I thoroughly enjoyed it! Still with my head in the clouds a bit.


Summary:

Total Books Read: 10

Longest Read: The Summer Goddess (464 pages)

Shortest Read: Drayton, the Taker (Drayton #1) (70 pages)

Book of the Month: All We Shall Know

Favourite Cover:

Challenges Progress:

GoodReads: 55/50

2016 Netgalley & Edelweiss: 37/?


November Books:

 

I began the month by finishing The Summer Goddess, by Joanne Hall.

This book left me with mixed feelings. I did not care for the main character and, although interesting, it was not one of those books I felt I had to know what happened next, but I feel that was mostly because I was not the target audience for this, as the overly descriptive pose lost me quite often. I know other people will enjoy it very much.

I rated it 3/5 stars.

 

I then read White by Tim Lebbon.

It is a cabin-in-the-woods where everyone starts dying one by one sort of tale sort of tale but the author manages to do something completely different with it. The horror and sense of hopelessness is palpable.

I rated it 3.5/5 stars.

 

I then immersed myself in All We Shall Know, by Donal Ryan.

This was such a new and positive experience for me. I really wish I could have read this in one sitting. Melody Shee is not a lovable character but she is a very deep one and this book is just amazing on so many levels. Highly recommended.

I rated it 4.8/5 stars.

 

I moved on to another short tale, Drayton, the Taker (Drayton #1) by Tony Bertauski.

Once again the author does not disappoint.
This is a short story introducing a vampire inspired character who is so much more than that. There are details that make the story and character unique and I have to recommend it.

I rated it 4.5/5 stars.

 

I moved on to The Many, by Nathan Field.

Boy, that one had me hooked from the get go. It was so suspenseful with such freaky stuff going on. I never knew if there was something supernatural with it. I love being kept in the dark. Then around halfway through the book the turn of events became quite disappointing. I felt this book deserved a much better resolution. It was still an exciting read, for the most part, and I absolutely adore the cover.

I rated it 3.5/5 stars.

 

I then read Lies by TM Logan.

This truly was a gripping psychological thriller. The author does a terrific job at explaining how an average Joe would find his life turned upside down. There were quite a few surprises but the fact I figured out what was happening about halfway through the book brought the rating down. Still, it was very well written and I recommend it.

I rated it 3.5/5 stars.

 

I finally got to In a Dark, Dark Wood, by Ruth Ware.

This began so well and the development was great up until the last third or so.
Then it felt like it dragged on, with obvious devices being used to stretch out the narrative and come to the resolution the author intended, which I found predictable.

I rated it 3.25/5 stars.

 

Still sticking with psychological thrillers, Safe With Me by K.L. Slater was next.

The main character was something, alright. I don’t think I have ever read a book starring someone as deranged.
Watching things through Anna’s eyes was disturbing, which I loved but got old after a while, and I felt not enough interesting stuff was happening. On the other hand I wished for more closure on a few things.

I rated it 3/5 stars.

 

We Like You So Much and Want to Know You Better, by Dave Eggers and narrated by Dion Graham was a very quick listen.

The characters were weak but it was a thought-provoking story, so I recommend it.

I rated it 3.5/5 stars.

 

 

My final book of the month was The Fates by Thomas Tessier.

Well, it was different. Unfortunately not in a good way.
The characters were many and not very development and the lack of resolution was quite disappointing.

I rated it 2/5 stars.

 


Where I got the books:

Audible

  • We Like You So Much and Want to Know You Better

Netgalley

  • The Summer Goddess
  • White
  • All We Shall Know
  • Drayton, the Taker (Drayton #1)
  • The Many
  • Lies
  • In a Dark, Dark Wood
  • Safe With Me
  • The Fates

 

Movie Reviews:

 

 

Other Posts in November :

 


How was November for you?
Do you have a Wrap-up post? Please link it below!

6 thoughts on “November 2016 Wrap-Up

  1. That’s a goodly lot of books you read and reviewed and congratulations on achieving your 70% feedback ratio – I’ve been struck at how quickly I now am cleared for books I request since I achieved and posted my badge. Hope that December is a great month for you, Ani – and when you visited Southampton you were some 40 miles down the M27 from where I live on the south coast:).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Sarah! I am really happy about this past month.

      Oh wow amazing to think I was that close to you, I had no idea! I really did love the area. Sea and parks and everything you need in one place :)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, we’re on the coast here, too, so we’re very blessed:). And yes… you’re right to be pleased with the way November went – it’s a great effort. Have a lovely week-end.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: December 2016 Wrap-Up | Ana's Lair

Chat with me!

